//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Hats off …

The wedding’s over, all the fanciful hats are back in their hat-boxes, and after studying pages and pages of hat photos I’ve done my own ‘hat stock-take’.

I’ll get this over quickly – I can’t wear a hat! It may have stemmed from being forced to wear a beret at secondary school (which made me and my friends the laughing stock of Brighton) and ever since then, I find myself looking positively weird wearing a titfer.

Now my ‘hat’ stock ranges from the practical to the semi-practical, after I admit to buying a couple of hats on a whim last year.  I have woolly hats and warm practical hats for skiing, golfing and outdoor tennis in cold months.  I have sun visors for golf and tennis in the summer months, and I have a black felt hat which I bought last Autumn in case I felt the cold, plus a 1970’s style blue and red polka dot hat which I bought at Chatsworth House last November when visiting friends in the Peak District (and both have been worn only once!)

Philip Treacy is a new name to me – but clearly he has a huge following, judging by the names perching his creations on their pretty heads last Friday.  Be it on my head, but you won’t see a PT anywhere near my home. I’m going to stick to the practical …

About Heather Hilder-Darling

I write about things I have a passion for - property, business and life

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

