//
you're reading...
Home!Truths

Move or improve?

I’ve decided to improve, rather than move …

I like where we live.  Why would I possibly want to move? We’re near the shops, the beach, all amenities, and for once in our lives we’ve almost got to know the neighbours! We’ve moved 5 times since 1984 and to be quite honest, I really don’t want to pay yet more stamp duty, especially as our 1955 chalet bungalow still has, what Estate Agents call, POTENTIAL.

Our planning permission runs out at the end of June 2011, so we’re getting things moving before it’s too late.  My husband argues that it’s a stupid thing to do, as all the children have flown the nest, and it’s just the two of us (no animals left either).  But, (and I’ve learnt to discuss these things rather calmly and amicably) I maintain that because we like our home, and we’re probably going to live there for the next 25 years at least, unless some disaster strikes, we might as well improve and make it, well, a grown-up house this time round. 

In a couple of weeks’ time, the contractor and his team will be turning up to create the foundations of a new sun room and bedroom at the rear of our property.  I’m already collecting ideas for furnishings, lighting and accessories – but have I fully appreciated the disruption which is going to descend on us for 6-8 weeks!!!

I’d better drag the architect’s drawings out again, just to check on the room sizes …

About Heather Hilder-Darling

I write about things I have a passion for - property, business and life

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

